Discrete Pulse Transforms and Rants…


I don’t know if I mentioned this before but my father is a math’s professor at the University of Pretoria. I’ll be doing my honors year next year, and I can maybe get credit for my one subject by helping my dad develop an algorithm/program to do discrete pulse transform in a 2d space. The inventor behind these transforms (also referred to as LULU operators) is a math’s professor at the University of Stellenbosch.

My role isn’t an important one, my task is to get my dad’s semi working (or not) matlab programs and rework and optimize them in c++, and then focus on maybe porting them over to a GPGPU format. So far this has been a tiring task since matlab programming is basically scripting, really badly formatted scripting. Now I have to take managed code written by my dad who has almost no experience in programming and convert it into a fast and efficient c++ program.

Architecture wise this is proven to be a nightmare as I don’t know c++ intimately and by that I mean know ever little trick in the language, and I’ve been working in c++ for years. I now have to think about the smallest performance problems, for examples will a lookup table really be faster or will the resulting cache misses result in it being slower, if you remember I tried using a lookup table in a previous project and it turned out to be a lot slower, I think this might be the reason.

The most embarrassing thing is that I work in the computer science department; this department produces almost as much computer science research papers as every single other department countrywide put together. And there is’nt really any one that I can talk to about extreme c++ optimization and techniques. There is way too much focus on software engineering and documentation, and not enough on the serious in depth topics concern with programming and its techniques. I’ve completed my undergraduate degree and the term cache miss has never cropped up, I think this is absolutely unacceptable. And now the department has moved almost all the undergraduate courses to java including the data structures and algorithms courses, the degree might as well be a bsc “java monkey” or a bsc “I can’t program anything complicated”.

The entire degree program and evaluation system here has just been one frustration after another, everything I’ve learnt I’ve had to do myself, and the courses where I’ve had a thorough understanding of the material and that interested me (namely AI and graphics) my marks were bad in, I’m just bad at memorizing material verbatim, I’m sorry but I’m really angry at this, I’m probably in the top 10 programmers in my year group and my marks are sitting towards the bottom of the spectrum just because my brain doesn’t work well with remembering exact phrases and dry theory too well. And the worst part is I’m one of the top programmers not because I’m a great programmer or super smart, but because everyone else here are idiots, it’s easy to memorize class notes and vomit them back up at the exam time. I thought it was just here but I’m starting to think that it might be the same everywhere…

Anyways I’ve gotten off topic with that rant about the sorry state of computer science in academia and my disillusionment with it.

I had a meeting with my dad and that professor from Stellenbosch and I felt like such an idiot, at least it seems in mathematics there are still people that have talents and know what there are talking about, that discussion was crazy intense. It’s awesome to actually feel like an idiot for a change, I don’t run into many humbling experiences in my field unfortunately. The 2d application of the LULU operators / DPT transforms hasnt really been explored and we dont really know if we’d be able to even apply it to a 2d image but i guess thats the goal of research. At least i’m learning things bit by bit…

Now I’m still carrying on with my conversions but I’m stuck here staring at a profiling and I’m have lot of idea for different implementations but I’m so tired of having to write 6 different versions and test them to see how they perform and then sit in front of google and hope to find out what causes the performance differences. I’d love to just meet someone that I can ask a ton of technical questions on compiler optimizations, cache techniques, storage of instructions in registers etc. I’m so tired of self study…

Guess it’s just wishful thinking at this stage. At the end of the day the cold reality is that I can’t rely on anyone here for advice.

I’m tired now and this rant has gone completely off topic, i’ll write up my initial progress in the weeks to come… I’ve also started with my game dev project, its going to be a total conversion for the UE3 engine, should be tons of fun and a nice challenge. I’m pretty much living my life one challenge after another…

Leave a Reply

